• Issuance of the Vietnam e-visa: 80 eligible nationalities
  • Issuance of the Vietnam e-visa: 80 eligible nationalities

  • on Oct 24, 2019       By: BN
  • A government decree on the issuance of electronic visas for Vietnam to citizens of 34 countries has been approved to be in effect from February 1, 2019 until February 1, 2021. The electronic visa to enter Vietnam is thus applicable to 80 nationalities.

    Decree No. 17/2019 made adjustments to the previous February 2017 in order to add 34 new ones to the list of 46 countries benefiting from the e-visa program. The new eligibility to this measure included for the most part the emerging countries of the European tourism sector.

    visit vietnam

    The decree is valid for two years for obtaining the e-visa and also promulgates the amendments applicable to international border crossings. According to which, five border posts allowing the entry to and exit of Vietnam have been added, three of which terrestrial and two maritime:

    3 new land border posts: Tay Trang in Dien Bien, Na Meo in Thanh Hoa, and La Lay in Quang Tri.
    2 new maritime border posts: Duong Dong in Kien Giang and Chan May in Thua Thien Hue.

    This application increases the number of international border posts available in Vietnam to 33, including 16 land, 9 maritime and 8 airports.

    The price for one entry is 25 USD, the e-visa for Vietnam applies to stays not exceeding 30 days.

    List of 34 new nationals eligible for the e-visa for Vietnam:

    Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China (including Hong Kong and Macao, excluding ePassport holders from China), Cyprus, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Qatar, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland and Vanuatu.

    List of 46 countries already eligible for electronic visas for Vietnam:

    In Asia (13): Azerbaijan, Armenia, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, India, Kazakhstan, Timor-Leste, South Korea, Myanmar, Mongolia, Japan, Philippines and China (not applicable to ePassport holders).

    In Europe (21): Ireland, the United Kingdom, Poland, Belarus, Bulgaria, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Greece, Russia, Luxembourg, Norway, Finland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, France, Slovakia and Netherlands.

    In the Americas (10): Argentina, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the United States, Panama, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

    In Oceana (2): Australia and New Zealand.

         Read more: 

    >> Everything need to know about Vietnam Visa

    >> Vietnam Visa: Green light for the 3rd extension of the visa exemption


You must type the characters of the image in the text box